Day Two – London

23May12

So, I slept terribly last night. I wish I wasn’t bitching about everything, since I’m doing something I’ve wanted to do since I left Greece, but I’m so lonely. I’m really terrible about doing things by myself. It gives me anxiety. Very bad anxiety. Mostly when I’m alone. Surprise.
I had to switch hostels because the one in Camden was booked. Now I’m in Hyde Park. It’s not as nice and I’m in a room with 15 other people. It’s cheaper than a hotel and I didn’t plan on spending money, but when the couch surfing thing doesn’t work out then what the hell are you supposed to do? And my new hostel only allows for an hour of free wifi…So I’ll have to search for caves like the one I’m at now.
Two of the guys from the Camden hostel were going to meet me at Westminster, but the tube took too long and I ended up being an hour late, so go figure. And there are a lot of couples around at the tourist attractions so I’m going to whine about being alone on this trip a little more.
I really didn’t want to be in London this long…I may figure out if it’s cheap to go somewhere else in England for the day tomorrow.

Okay. It’s almost 10pm and I’ve been at this Starbucks since about 7:30 or 8pm. I think I’m just going to keep typing when I can because that’s just easier. Instead of trying to recap throughout the day.
After I typed what was there….I basically was in Westminster from a little before noon to about 5pm. Saw Parliament and the London Eye. Fell asleep sitting up in the park by the London Eye for about 15 minutes. Wandered around the area more and there’s a lot of stuff to see in that area, actually (say that in a British accent because it’s probably my favorite word that I’ve heard repeatedly).
Went and walked around basically the entire Parliament building. Found Victoria Gardens which is right behind Parliament then wandered through the streets and then found more old historic stuff. I found a park bench and sat there and read Born to Run for about a half hour. Walked around more and found St. James’s Park. Buckingham Palace is on the opposite end of the park and the changing of the guard is at 11:30 so I won’t go there until Friday. Walked around Trafalgar Square..I think. I don’t have a map so I was kind of just wandering again.
Realized about the time i got there that I was exhausted and started on my way back to the hostel during rush hour on the underground. On one train back to Bayswater there was a foreign man who I was standing behind who had no idea that there were other people on the train who were near him. Acting like he was drunk or on something else, sweating profusely and scaring the little French children on the seats next to him. Adventures….

Took a short nap and charged the iPad at the hostel and I’ve been at the Starbucks from 7:30 and they’re closing in 15 minutes. Then dinner, then sleep, and Harry Potter tour tomorrow. Pictures are allowed (surprisingly) and I’ll take a TON for you HP freaks. 🙂

PS. Two girls from Denver are in the Starbucks and staying in a nearby hostel. Friended them on Facebook so we can probably hang out tomorrow and Friday night. Yay for no-language barrier human interaction!



No Responses Yet to “Day Two – London”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment