Day One – London

22May12

So I typed this throughout the day and I don’t feel like editing in. Welcome to my brain…

Um, seriously. How else could I describe how exhausted and tired I am? And paranoid I’m going to run out of money by next week.
The girl I was supposed to Couch Surf with basically bailed on me. Its £5 for a one way underground ticket, so I just found a hostel for tonight in Camden.
I haven’t eaten an actual meal since Sunday? Unless you want to count the airplane dinner. I’m too stressed out and scrambling to find a couch surfer for the rest of my days here. Since clearly the girl isn’t getting back to me.
I want to take a nap, but I can’t go into my room until 2pm. At least they’re letting me use the wifi…

The weather is really nice. I took a break from couch surfing finding to going to find something to eat and explore a little where I am. It’s not bad. Really crowded, but who knows. Maybe central London is worse?
After some researching, what I found was Camden Lock. Google that. It’s like a big market with shops and food and people shoving samples in your face.

All day I’ve been going back and forth on whether this trip was a good idea or not. I should probably quit whining and get some sleep and shower.

..And after getting some sleep I magically feel better. I’ve resumed my couch surfing/hostel/hotel/planning efforts. I realized I only have to change currency twice. Yay simplicity. I guess I should’ve known the first day was going to be the most stressful and ridiculous.

Went exploring again…basically where I walked earlier again. I went into a Lidl? It’s a grocery store, similar to a Kroger. Then back down to their canal. If you thought the Indy canal was filthy, think again. This canal had at least 4 full bags of trash just along the walkway AND in the water at one spot.
You know how outrageous Russell Brand looks? Apparently that’s an actual look here. It’s real people and I saw an entire group of them.

Switching hostels again tomorrow and then maybe some legitimate adventuring.



No Responses Yet to “Day One – London”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment