Day Six – Glasgow

27May12

Today was ridiculously better. I should’ve been in Scotland like..2 days ago. I slept so well. Woke up for breakfast. Traditional Scottish breakfast. My stomach has been acting weird the entire trip so I barely ate any of it. But..it was: an egg, 2 pieces of toast, baked beans, bacon (which was more like a slice of fried ham), a potato pancake, tea, yogurt, and I think that’s all.
Took my time getting ready because the place that the receptionist told me could exchange currency didn’t open until 11am. Marks & Spencer is like a Super Target. Or Kohls and Walmart had a really nice classy baby.
The exchange rate is stupid. $1.70 to £1. I got about £205 for $350.

First I went to the Glasgow Cathedral. Gorgeous! They’re actually restoring parts of it at the moment. Then I went into St Mungo’s Cathedral which is now a museum. After that, there was some sort of children/preteen military graduation ceremony so it kept me from going on the bridge into the Necropolis. I watched it for a while then they started praying and singing hymns and I no longer blended in. Found a back entrance and got in.

Who forgot to tell me and my legs that Glasgow is like San Fran’s sister city when it comes to hills? Screw you Indiana and your lack of hills. Needless to say, on top of walking at least 2 miles a day, hills have been included. I might as well be running 3 miles a day. I miss it, I really do. But I need to get back into it not training for anything. Back into speed training. I liked getting faster and beating my own times. I’m just that competitive I guess.

Went to find The Barras Market which was listed somewhere in the top things to do. Yeah, no. It’s basically a thrift market. After that I went to the Glasgow Gallery of Modern Art. Hung out in George Square and listened to Scottish people talk. It sounds like gibberish from far away then when they’re closer it’s relatively understandable.

Not sure what’s going on at home, but I’ve been hanging out at a lot of Starbucks to get wifi. They have frapp happy hour so they’re half price. It’s kind of cool I guess. There’s a “style mile” sort for similar to Chicago’s Magnificent Mile and I wandered through there. Went into a LUSH store. Oh, bad idea. They’re famous for their bath balls. I got 2 and a lip scrub. The employee was really nice and helpful. We had a 5 minute conversation about my trip and the city and what to do in Edinburgh.

Went back to the hostel for a break. I can’t wait to do laundry tomorrow. My bra smells..disgusting. And I’ve got 1 shirt left. Went to this Irish pub for dinner and had “steak and Guinness pie” which was basically a pot pie with steak, mushrooms, onions, and gravy. It was okay I guess. Ive never been a huge pot pie fan. But seriously, I can’t wait to get home and eat vegetables again. Like, I want to be vegetarian for a week when I get home. I’m sick of bread and fries and peanuts.

However, TOMORROW IS EDINBURGH!



No Responses Yet to “Day Six – Glasgow”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment