Day One: Tuesday

07Jun11

I don’t think the jet-lag is effecting me yet. I woke up around 8am and got ready. Coming into town Monday night in the dark and then waking up to the island in the daylight was probably a good thing. I was amazed by what was out our window.
As a group, we had breakfast around 9 and left at about 9:30 and walked into Parikia. We first went to Paros Web where Nikolas and Bernie are. It was too stuffy in their office so we went down to a cafe to talk. I didn’t eat much of anything before we left and Susan told everyone that the yogurt was amazing. I had to order some! Since we’re in Greece, it’s greek yogurt! (Seriously, I love it. Now it’s legit greek yogurt.)
All I can say was amazing. Kelly tried it and we agreed that we needed yogurt, honey and fruit so we can have imitation breakfast while we’re here. We introduced ourselves to Nikolas and told him our specialties and what we’d like to work on while we’re here. I know that I’ll be helping with the video work, but I do want to get my hands into some coding while I’m here.
After we left the cafe, we went to the Aegean Center where we’ll be working some. We all get keys so we can come and go as we please to work. The breeze from the ocean makes the island cool. It was never really unbearable as far as heat, it only got uncomfortable when the breeze stopped.
We walked around Parikia a little more and met up with Gabriel (who is John’s son; John is the director of the Aegean Center) who hung out with us for a while and took us around town. There was a shop that had octopus drying in this little screened cabinet/cage. I don’t think that would appeal to me, but I’m sure I’ll try it eventuall.
We walked back to our apartments then Nikolas and Bernie set up our internet connection! It’s not perfect, but I got to let everyone know I was alive and post pictures. Speaking of that, I left my camera sync cable at home.
We went swimming since the breeze had died down and it was kind of hot out. We were walking around the rocky area in the water and I slipped and fell in. I was trying to avoid just jumping in but, hey, it happens.
After we were done swimming, Susan and Kellie took us to a grocery store on the island. It wasn’t different, but was? Kelly and I got our yogurt, fruit and honey to remake the breakfast from the cafe we had that morning.
After we got back from grocery shopping, we had a team training and Alex and Kathryn did a time lapse of the sun set. A lot of people went out for dinner but Kelly and I stayed in and made sandwiches and hung out.

I’m going to try and get up at 7 tomorrow and go run, if not run at least walk and find a path to run on.



One Response to “Day One: Tuesday”

  1. 1 Rob C.

    Great blog and pics, looking forward to seeing how it’ll all turn out.


Leave a comment